Session Sharing in FastX

Session sharing allows multiple users to view and optionally interact with a running FastX session. Session sharing is dynamic, meaning it can be enabled and disabled on the fly.

Sharing a Session

Web Client

  1. Launch a Session
  2. When the session appears in the session list, highlight it
  3. Click on the person icon

    Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.20.25 PM

  4. Set Sharing to On
  5. Give the link to the guests who you would like to connect.  See Sharing vs Keyboard Control for more details

Desktop Client

Sharing in the Desktop Client is currently not supported

Sharing vs Keyboard Control

Sharing gives anyone with the link the ability to log in and view the session.  Guests cannot interact with the session unless explicitly granted control.  There is a second link that is disabled by default called Keyboard Control.  Giving a guest the Keyboard Control link allows the guest to give control to any other user in the session, including himself.  Keyboard Control is useful when offline sharing is enabled since the owner of the session may not be connected at the time

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.20.00 PM

 

Offline Sharing

By default the owner of the session must be connected to the session before others can connect.  If a guest attempts to connect when the owner is not connected, the guest will receive a message like this

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.11.32 PM

Offline sharing allows guests to connect even when the owner is not connected (ie “offline”).  Offline sharing is useful when the guests are trusted partners that need to collaborate on a project.

Enabling Offline Sharing

  1. Log in to the FastX Web Interface as an administrator.
  2. Click on Admin > System Configuration > Sessions > Configuration
  3. Set Enable Session Sharing to On
    Set Enable Offline Sharing to Off
    Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.16.46 PM
  4. Save the configuration

New Sessions will have session sharing enabled

 

 

Disabling Session Sharing

 

  1. Log in to the FastX Web Interface as an administrator.
  2. Click on Admin > System Configuration > Sessions > Configuration
  3. Set Enable Session Sharing to Off
  4. Save the Configuration

New Sessions will have session sharing disabled